I have to admit, this was a very spontaneous post as I’m having a bit of writers block this week! This lil post idea was given to me by my very good friend also blogger Grace, and you all should check her blog out because she is an AMAZING writerπŸ˜›!! 

http://gracyviolet.blogspot.co.uk

This is going to be a short little post about how I developed such a love for make up and fashion, and how it continues to influence me everydayπŸ’‹πŸ‘—.

I come from very creative family; my mum is a photographer and she used to be a fashion designer, and my dad is a furniture designer; so from a young age I’ve always had creative influences in my life.

Aside from those fashion stencils and ‘fashion design’ games that pretty much every girl had when I was younger, I think with Fashion, the thing that sparked my love for it was really watching shows like America’s Next Top Model. I always loved seeing the outfits that they wore, and how the pieces were put together, and the reason behind the outfits.
Growing up, I realised that what you wore really expressed who you are, and therefore I began to develop my own style and sort of define how I went about expressing myself, and how I wanted to portray myself to other people.
I love simplistic clothes, things that are block colours (usually white, black or grey..I know, really out there…) and then provide makeup that adds that ‘statement’ to the look. However, I also like to play around with more bold colours and different patterns, yet still keep it pretty simplistic.
I think taking textiles has also allowed me to explore other peoples creative style, and how they combine different colours and patterns to get the look that they desire and expresses them the best. The girls in my textiles class are a brilliant example of this, as we all have our own individual styles and are all very unique.

Moving onto makeup, I think as a child my love for makeup was influenced by media – the magazines that I read, the shows that I watched on TV, the books I read, etc etc. I think my very first makeup product, i was a clear mascara that I got in Shout magazine in the summer holidays just after I finished primary school, which is probably the age that the majority of girls started wearing makeup. And of course, I went through that terrible blue eyeshadow and purple eyeliner phase, and also the black panda eyes with clumpy mascara and chalky foundation until I realised the ‘beauty’ of makeup. 

Now, I’m able to realise that makeup is not only in the beauty industry, but it is also considered as art. The looks that some people are able to create are just outstanding, and I love scrolling through my social media and seeing the most amazing and creative looks, that are so truly original as well. My Inspirations include those such as NikkiTutorials, Carli Bybel, Daisy Marquez, Mikala Walker and many many more; they’re so beyond talented.

This post turned out to be something a bit more than a ‘little’ post, I just got a liiiiitttle bit carried awayπŸ˜¬πŸ˜†!!
See you next Tuesday,
Scarlett x

2 thoughts on “The Development of My Love for Makeup and FashionπŸ’…πŸ‘—πŸ’„πŸ‘’πŸ’‹

Leave a Reply

